Green swears in new members of council, appoints president and vice president


Barbara Crouse Babbitt takes the oath (Photo provided by Valerie Wolford)

A new year means some new faces on council for the city of Green.

During the Jan. 4 organizational meeting, three new members of council were sworn in and council decided on who will serve as president and vice president.

Sworn in by Judge Todd McKenney were Barbara Crouse Babbitt representing Ward 1, Bob Young in Ward 2 and Rocco Yeargin in Ward 3. Finally in Ward 4, Matthew Shaughnessy was sworn in by Katie Stoynoff.

Rocco Yeargin takes the oath (Photo provided by Valerie Wolford)ynoff.

Green Mayor Gerard Neugebauer said he looks forward to working with the new council members and the current ones already on council.

Young made a nomination for Chris Humphrey to again serve as president of council. Humphrey was unanimously voted president for 2018. Councilman Justin Speight nominated Young to serve as vice president, council also unanimously approved this nomination.

Speight said Young is a good businessman and a true family man.

Council also adopted council rules for 2018. Green City Council meets on the second and fourth Tuesday of every month with committee meetings starting at 5 p.m. and regular meetings at 7 p.m.

The next council meeting is set for 7 p.m. Jan. 9 at the Central Administration Building.

Matthew Shaughnessy takes the oath (Photo provided by Valerie Wolford)